Let.Them.Eat.Cake.

Maneira is having an event, a “Tribute to Vivienne Westwood” this week that I think is such a marvelous idea, I am blogging it even though I am not in the Maneira Agency. But I do love the agency and its models, as well as the designer’s involved, so it’s not a great chore. ;P I also adore Vivienne Westwood, she is a designer most noted for bringing modern punk and “new wave” fashions to the mainstream. We all have seen “punk style” with its BDSM flavors, bondage gear, safety pins and razors, outrageous hair and makeup, but Vivienne also included deeper elements in her designs with the use of historical 17th and 18th century cutting techniques which give the clothes an even more shocking flare.

So with this, Maneira challenged its designer’s to create a one of a king “tribute to Vivienne Westwood.” And with their great minds, they all seem to have come through swimmingly. A few days ago I posted *SoliDea FoliEs* “Vivienne” gown, http://www.flickr.com/photos/50383619@N03/7527579174/in/photostream , a simply stunning work of art with its tiers of skirting and bows. Today I want to show you two more offerings in this event, and sadly, they are only available until Sunday, so if you are going to purchase, time is running out.

The first is Aliza Karu’s “Tribute to Westwood” A truly remarkable work with its outlandish punk themed swank, chains, masks, and there is even a clock on the back. The entire affect is the epitome of the punk movement I feel, a sort of shock and awe, guaranteed to have your mother swooning with a “what did I do to deserve this” comment. But then, wasn’t that what the punk movement was about? Ms Westwood herself once commented, “I was messianic about punk, seeing if one could put a spoke in the system in some way.” The Punk movement is about a shock of the senses, a nose up to authority. But the most amazing part of this outfit is Aliza Karu does it in such a notedly feminine way! It is true punk softened with flowers and lace. Gorgeous!

The next outfit from *LpD* is “Marie Antoinette.” I know, if you didn’t know Vivienne Westwood, you would think one designer totally got it wrong. But both were spot on. Westwood is a designer of many fathoms, and Nevery Lorakeet’s selection is fitting of a gown created for either the “Queens Jubilee Collection” or from her wedding selections. Because really, who wants to show up on their wedding day with safety pins in their ears, I mean, on our wedding day aren’t we all princesses at heart? I actually seem to recall a similar dress to Neve’s in the wedding collection and thought at the time how stunning it is. Nevery’s is no less so. Truly a feminine, graceful piece that makes a statement. Just for the fifteen minutes it took to snap a picture, and this is truly an unedited snapshot, I received two comments from gentlemen on how lovely I looked. Amazing. Me. A Cao. I can’t remember the last time a man has even noticed me. As an aside, the “Marie Antoinette: style Hairs are from Fauve Beaumont’s Osmose, I saw recently the store has reopened, so runnnnn! And give her a huge hug from me and pick up the really cool summer style she just released.

 

And as usual I digress. If you want to see some truly inspirational pieces, check out the offerings at Maneira this weekend. I just know they will have something for everyone. Have a beautyful weekend! Here you are, you know I will even give you a ride:  http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/The%20Regis/183/127/2783

 

MANIERA LLC ANNOUNCES THE LAUNCH OF THE REAL LIFE DIGITAL PUBLICATION

SUNDAY 8th JULY 1pm

 

MANIERA LLC PRESENT: BACK TO REALITY

 

LAUNCH OF PREVIEW EDITION OF REAL LIFE DIGITAL PUBLICATION

LIVE MUSIC BY THUMPER BOUCHER

TRIBUTE TO WESTWOOD FASHION SHOW

WESTWOOD EXHIBIT

AFTER PARTY

 

28 brand new designs by 18 of SL’s top designers made especially for this event and on sale at MANIERA sim for 7 days after the show.

